The following appeared as part of an article in a weekly news magazine:

“The country of Sacchar can best solve its current trade deficit problem by lowering the price of sugar, its primary export. Such an action would make Sacchar better able to compete for markets with other sugar-exporting countries. The sale of Sacchar’s sugar abroad would increase, and this increase would substantially reduce Sacchar’s trade

deficit.” Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument that lowering price sugar will create competitive advantage over other exporting countries, eventually would lead to a decrease of trade deficit in the country of Sacchar is not entirely logically convincing, because it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that lower prices will give better sales in the market, but argument didn't provide anything about other sugar-exporting countries. It isn't sure that lowering price, is best option for country. That why assumption need something else to support conclusion that after lowering prices, Sacchar will sell its sugar lower that any other country which become a preferred supply for buyers. For example, if Brazil sell its sugar for 50 $ for a tonnes, Sacchar have to decrease its price below of the 50 $. Additionally, author forget that lowering prices lead to lower revenue from exports that actually could increase deficit rather that to drop.

Secondly, the argument never addressees annual import of country. Author's logic saw to increase in exports, also decrease deficit but perhaps country have to seek reducing their imports from other countries that with even current exports, they will decrease deficit. This method is also option that author forgot. For example, most countries put high taxes to the imports to block deficit problem in trade and also direct money their own industries and businesses. Especially, European Union have strict protectionist policies that set by standards of products and documents about their origins. These policies prevent small and undeveloped countries enter to biggest market in the world.

Thirdly, the argument owns no any data about total statistic of exports. According to given details, sugar is primary export of country. There is known rules that dependency in a commodity in trade is risk. That's why countries try to diversify their exports to other countries. If Sacchar are dependent to exporting its sugar and revenues from it, country have to decrease its imports rather than to applying given method.

Finally, the argument omits geographical position of Sacchar in the world. Location of seller is important for buyers because of transporting cost and governmental organizations. If Sacchar is situated in the ocean's shore, it have advantage about transporting commodity with tankers that is the cheapest way right now. Being landlocked country make them to transport their sugar with planes or vehicles which is more expensive in comparing tankers. If Sacchar is located inside European Union, it has huge trade advantages versus others like buying commodities only from countries inside of the EU. For example, France is heart of European Union in agriculture that provide most commodities to all countries with higher price and without competition.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound.