Question authority. Only by questioning accepted wisdom can we advance our understanding of the world.

To live without thinking or to exist without meaning are the same things, isn’t it? Ability to see and at the same time reluctance to look, worse than blindness, is it true? Satisfying with what is given without questioning what is it, why and from where, that usually is considered sufficient by all, creates a culture in which if all agree, then true and enough, which gradually stop you to stay insatiable toward thinking and questioning, learning and discovering. Thus, before being stopped by the limits of thinking, stop yourself! Do not run with majority! Calm down and look around. You will see many familiar things in the same unfamiliar ones. Find them in yourself and you will see yourself in them. Achieve the point of illumination and on that peak you will see another world with many other sides that you were looking at and simultaneously could not see. However, the way to the capability to think and question an accepted wisdom, despite the fact that it is accepted almost by all, go throw two ways. Taking into consideration that all best answers are hidden in truth, first way is you do not have to deceive yourself and second, you have to listen to yourself. Using life experience and giving some examples, I will try to explain each of these ways separately.

Have you ever thought about numerous excuses that we find to our daily actions? Excuses, which force us to believe that we acted or thought in the right way, which do not give us a chance to think about our mistakes and wrong behaviors, excuses that, prohibit us to change and not to lie to ourselves, which make us very vulnerable and weak. In one of the meetings in our country, there was discussion on the topic “Crime” and I mentioned in that debate that the most terrible crime begins from deceiving yourself. For example, a student that makes his first step to the university, knowing that an education is the best thing which he can get during that time of his life, deceives himself when decides to miss his lessons and to join to the majority, for which the accepted wisdom is- “Education is not important”. In addition to this, let me take another example, when man that scared, leaves his friend alone and after this to calm his own conscience and not to be judged by other people, begins to excuse himself saying that his friend does not deserve devotion. Therefore, before learning to question the accepted wisdom we have to be able to question and find ourselves, knowing that accepting the weaknesses, which make us vulnerable and at the same time has the inverse effect to change us and give a strength.

On the second stage, after keeping truth as our main weapon we have to learn to listen to that truth. Especially when our adviser is we ourselves. It was said by one of the American poets and civil rights activists, Maya Angelou that - “Listen to yourself and in that quietude you might hear the voice of God”. Actually, the decision that is made by healthy thinking coincides with the decision of God, but unfortunately among the significant number of those who know what should be done just a tiny minority do it. For example, the theory of evolution was very popular in the past and we examined it very attentively. For one time it was an accepted wisdom that could not be contested and the vast majority of people believed in this theory even without any tough evidences, just because the biggest part of people believed. After some time this theory began to lose its popularity and was not accepted by the same majority, because as usual, when something becomes not so much popular less people get interested in it. Only few people who could question that theory at that time and thought about creation of mankind made this theory weak and meaningless.

In conclusion, a human being who can be fair with himself and at the same time hear himself and let to the second himself doubt in the first one, will be free of accepting without questioning long established morals and will be able to see everything in its true shape.