The following appeared as part of an editorial in a weekly newsmagazine:

“Historically, most of this country’s engineers have come from our universities; recently,

however, our university-age population has begun to shrink, and decreasing enrollments

in our high schools clearly show that this drop in numbers will continue throughout the

remainder of the decade. Consequently, our nation will soon be facing a shortage of

trained engineers. If we are to remain economically competitive in the world marketplace,

then we must increase funding for education—and quickly.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc

The argument that to keep competitiveness of country in global system, national government has to rise funding to education in order to increase number of trained engineers is not entirely logically convincing, because it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that decrease in number of enrollments to university will lead to shortage of engineers in near future. It is certainly possible that cause of this situation comes from drop in birth rate in most of the world. Parents prefer having one or two baby in comparing to big families of older generations. In most industrialized countries, as Japan or Germany face same problems. That’s why government needs to demand more children from their families in order to keep same level young population. For example, countries like China which has great resources of workers change its one child policy in some regions to replace ageing employees in country’s important industries or Turkey president demand at least 3 children from country’s new families to keep their position as youngest nation in the Europe.

Secondly, the argument never addresses impact of migrant workers. Author never mentioned migration of young and smart persons from less developing countries to seek economically better conditions. Brain drain is result of this process where in United States and Germany there are millions of intelligence employees whose graduated from their universities and stayed in there. If government provides better standards for migrants, shortage of engineers will be closed by migrants. For example, engineers from India where wages are too lower than an average, could easily move to Australia for working in better salaries.

Thirdly, the argument didn’t provide reasons of shortage of engineers. Technology changes our live really fast in the 21st century that most occupations disappear. Innovations in manufacturing and replacing simply workers by robots causes millions of job loses nowadays. Perhaps, manufacturers won’t need engineers a lot in future because computers could make their effort both with lower time and lower costs. For example, in the past NASA need hire tens of engineers to control its operations but now one guy are doing same job with help technology.

Finally, the argument omits desire of students. As mentioned in the previous paragraphs, given reasons affects students prefers other occupations in order to earn more money and job that will not disappear in the future. For example, air force hire fighter pilots for reconnaissance flight but now, drones are doing the same thing for less cost and risk.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound.

The evidence in support of conclusion, decrease in number of engineers doesn’t mean lose competitiveness in market because many countries face same problem and technology and innovation or migration is the best solution.