The MegaTek Corporation’s vice president of marketing made the following

statement to the company’s board of directors:

MegaTek has been losing market share to UltraCorp for three years straight.

Customer surveys suggest that consumers perceive UltraCorp products to be of

higher quality than those produced by MegaTek. MegaTek spends more annually on

research and development than UltraCorp does, and it pays its employees a higher

average salary, so we do not believe that our products are actually inferior; rather,

the perception is due to the fact that UltraCorp charges higher prices and spends

more money on advertising. In order to regain the lost market share from UltraCorp,

MegaTek should raise its prices and devote more money to advertising.

Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument. In your discussion, be sure to

analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example,

you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking

and what alternative examples or counterexamples might weaken the conclusion.

You can also discuss what sort of evidence would strengthen or refute the argument,

what changes in the argument would make it more logically sound, and what,

if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument claims that in order to compensate its losses, MegaTek should increase product prices and spend more money on advertising. Stated in this way the argument manipulates facts and conveys distorting view of the situation. Conclusion of the argument is based on assumptions which has no clear evidence for evaluating the issue. Hence, the argument is weak and has some flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes, if the MegaTec spends more on research and development than UltraCorp does, it means that MegaTek products will not lose its market share. There is no clear evidence that spending more on reasearch and development gives to company an advantage among other companies. For example, The Ultracorp can spend less on the research and development, but still know about the consumer's tastes and preferences.

Second, the argument claims that the reason why the UltraCorp has more market share is due to the high product prices, and if the Megatec will increase its prices it will rise the market share. This argument has no strenght base. Customers mostly prefer the products with high quality, not the high prices. However, the high prices is not the indicator of the high quality. So, the reason that customers prefer the UltraCorp products to MegaTec products, may be the quality of the product. So, MegaTec ought to control its products for quality.

Finally, as a third argument it is shown that MegaTec can increase its market share by devoting more money to advertising, as a UltraCorp does. Of course, the advertisement does attract more customers, but it is not the main issue. Consumers always praise the products that they are fond of. So, if products have high quality and are mostly prefered by buyers then the company will rise its market share, even the products of the company are not highly advertised.

In conclusion, the arguments do not sound logically and are weaken by above mentioned assumptions. MegaTec company should review its key factors, if it really wants to regain the lost market share from UltraCorp.