The following appeared as part of a column in a popular entertainment magazine:

“The producers of the forthcoming movie 3003 will be most likely to maximize their

profits if they are willing to pay Robin Good several million dollars to star in it—even

though that amount is far more than any other person involved with the movie will make.

After all, Robin has in the past been paid a similar amount to work in several films that

were very financially successful.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument that star actor Robin Good’s reputation and his past success in the box office, also lead producers to maximize their profits in upcoming movie 3003 is not entirely logically convincing, because it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that Robin Good’s popularity will make film project to achieve success in gains. But Producers forgot face tiredness problem in movie industry. Producers always prefer to work with unknown actors or popular star that last year haven’t seen in any movie. Spectators don’t like to watch same person in every film project. Robin Good played in many movies that people are tired to see him as in leading role. For example, Star Wars chose new faces for his new upcoming sequel rather than to prefer known stars.

Secondly, the argument believes that paying huge amount of money to Robin Good in movie 3003 will make success. Actually, making a movie is more than just leading role as supporting actors, screenwriters, director and other crew members. Most successful movies directed by global known people as Cristopher Nolan, Martin Scorsese or David Cameron. Cristopher Nolan is director of movies as Batman trilogy, Inceptions and Interstellar that grossed more than billion dollars. For example, choosing better crew in cost of playing with new faces could succeed.

Thirdly, the argument never addresses story of the movie. There are tens of films that played by Oscar winning actors but didn’t make huge effort for their producers. It means that playing with the star isn’t key of the accomplishment. Movie’s story have to be powerful to affect or attract people to the cinemas. Author’s conclusion provide nothing about script or story of the movie 3003 that decrease chances of movie to be successful. For example, story of Inception, Avatar or Interstellar attracted millions to cinemas and made huge gains.

Finally, the argument omits releasing time of the movie. Warner Bros, 21st Fox Century or Disney studios produces a lot of movies in every year that have big budgets and world known stars and directors in them. Summer period is known as time to release super hero concept movies in contrast autumn of the year there are movies that targets Golden Globes and Academy Oscars awards. For example, if 3003 movie will be released at the same time with Star Wars Rogue one, new James Bond movie or Dunkirk that world war two movie directed by Cristopher Nolan, success in the box office is impossible.

Thus, the argument is not completely sound.

The evidence in support of conclusion, producers must find a good story and director of the movie first then should search good time to release their movie that rival film studios haven’t release new project.

Ultimately, the argument might have been weakened by flaws in the argument.