If rituals did not exist, we would have to invent them. We need ceremonies and rituals to help us define ourselves socially and culturally.

“It was Friday. Passing throw one of the streets of old city, Baku, I heard a sound of euphonious voices that seemed very familiar to me. I went toward that sound and stopped near the old Mosque. It came from there. After getting permission, I came in and saw many people, which were singing something together. I did not know their language, culture, and religion before, but this ritual showed me everything in one moment. It was the pure love that I felt and which gave me a strength”

It is impossible to find a country, which does not have its own holiday. Sometimes even nationalities of people are known by their ceremonies and rituals. It is something that have deep roots and respected by majority of people. It is a belief of a particular nation by which it is proud of and through which it shows itself, its culture and its history. However, holidays like Easter or Ramadan that are accepted as a culture by more than one population at the same time have become symbols of prevalent religions.

The main central tenet of Christian theology is the resurrection of Jesus, belief that has sacred history. Christians celebrate this event on Easter Sunday, two days after Good Friday, the day of his crucifixion, that is fixed for the night of the Full moon near the time of the spring equinox. Having special customs, this holiday is very famous and can be known by sunrise services, decorating eggs and traditional Easter foods that vary by region. People of all Cristian world define themselves by the rituals of this holiday and share their traditional food with the people of other religion as well, who can be aware of their religion and culture by this custom.

The next most popular holiday, which also has a huge fame is Ramadan, the ninth month of the Islamic calendar, which is observed by Muslims worldwide as a month of fasting, spiritual reflection, improvement and increased devotion and worship. According to Islamic belief, this holiday commemorates the first revelation of the Quran to Muhammad. The main custom of this holiday is to stay hungry from dawn to sunset. During this month, the Muslims break the fast in the evenings with their traditional foods and feeding others that is considered as duty for them also is a part of this ritual. The best way to explore the culture of a particular Muslim nation and to see them in their best state, in which they can show themselves, is to be there at that time, especially on the last day of this sacred holiday.

Rituals based on our cultural and religious history that we do not stop implementing constantly become the best school for our children to know and define themselves from early years and grow with their spiritual and traditional foundation that will never be abandoned, forgot or neglected.