The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author concludes that teachers should assign homework no more than twice a week as teachers of Marlee do. In order to justify the conclusion, the arguer provides a survey showing the way that homework is assigned combined with performance of students in Sanlee and Marlee districts. At first glance, the author’s argument appears to be somewhat convincing,

but further reflection reveals that specific evidences are needed before we can substantiate the argument.

A foremost evidence required to evaluate this recommendation is that the quantity of homework given by the teacher. The survey shows merely how many days per week the teachers assign homework, but lack the information of the loading of homework given at a time. It is much likely that teachers in Marlee district give out more homework at a time and allow students to finish them in a couple of days. That is to say, it is possible that the total amount of homework given in two districts are roughly identical. If that is the case, limiting the number of day to assign homework can have little effect on student performance since there in fact are other possible factors that differentiate the students in the two high schools.

Additionally, it is unsound to assume that students in Marlee district are doing better jobs than ones in Sanlee district merely judging them by their grades. It is necessary to look into the grading system in both schools, since we cannot obviate the possibility that high schools in Marlee are generally giving students higher grades. An evidence that provide a fair comparison of student performance in two school is favorable to evaluate the argument. The conclusion made by author would be strengthened if evidence shows that students in Marlee do have better academic performance.

Finally, the argument relies on the questionable assumption that the Marlee students likely have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. This assumption oversimplifies that more homework means less free time to study and leads to a lower grade. To properly evaluate the proposal of reducing homework, we need to know how students spend their time learning at home. That is to say, spending less time on homework does not necessary mean that student will spend more time of studying. In fact, it is possible that students are learning through the process of doing homework and actually need more homework to practice. The arguer’s recommendation would be hardly convincing to people if the evidence shows that homework is the only time students spend studying.

In sum, the aforementioned evidence is needed in order to evaluate the author’s conclusion. Before the required information are given, one cannot easily verdict whether the author’s recommendation is beneficial to the students.