Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

It is difficult to disagree completely with the assertion put forth for us: "Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field." As somebody who has spent the bulk of my undergraduate education in the theatre, I have often found myself exasperated when non-theatre people have given intense critiques related to acting, directing, or any number of technical design positions. That being said, this is perhaps a good example of the differences between critical judgment and the offering of opinions. Many people assert that opinions are never wrong; honestly, this is another assertion that it is difficult to disagree with; however, no matter how firmly one holds opinions, the most unpopular among them can often be a cause for immense controversy. I return to my theatrical example, as it is the example most familiar to me: when many critics praise a certain production, (whether it be on Broadway, regionally, or even at a local high school) any dissenting opinion is often called out as unnecessary or angry. Oftentimes this dissenter is accused of having some kind of issue with the creative team or actors involved. More often than I would like, I have seen those whose opinions are different than the norm simply accused of being "jealous." This creates a frustrating arena of opinion -- what is the point of expressing opinion if it is simply going to be dismissed unless the critiqued party in question is happy with it? I doubt this is a purely theatrical issue -- I am sure those who participate in the sciences, math, other liberal arts, and more politically minded fields experience the same things every day.

Critical judgment, on the other hand, seems to me another animal entirely. While a large section of critical judgment is the giving of a person's subjective opinion, (perhaps this is redundant -- surely all opinion is subjective, if some more influenced by fact or reason than others) the phrase "critical judgment" implies, in my opinion, a form of analysis and a strong mulling over of the material that can really only be achieved effectively by someone whose opinions on the matter they are critiquing are rooted more in previous knowledge of the field than in simple experience alone. To be an "expert" in a field such as theatre is an extremely general term. Perhaps being an "expert" simply means you have acted in several productions, served as creative director for a company, majored in Theatre in some way in college; or, perhaps, you have simply seen a wealth of theatre that has allowed you to experience a wide variety of theatrical qualities and choices. Being an "expert," in this case, is almost as subjective as opinion itself. However, I must admit, that any type of critical judgment I have received in the theatre has meant much more coming from somebody who I consider an "expert" in the field.

For example: if my mother tells me I did an excellent job acting in a production, it is certainly a prideful moment for myself and her, and I am more than happy to accept her support. However, there is something much more innately valuable if New York Times critic Ben Brantley praises my acting, or even if a local director I hope to work with in the future takes time out of his or her day to express their happiness with my performance. This does not make my mother's opinion less valuable in general, but I do believe that it makes it less valuable in terms of my theatrical worth. My mother will think I'm great no matter how horribly I do, because she is a good and supportive woman; New York Times critic Ben Brantley has little to no regard for my feelings, and will only praise me because his vast knowledge of theatre and experience critiquing shows has led him to believe that I am a head above the rest. Though my chosen example was a lengthy one, I believe it accurately reflects my opinion on this issue.. However, I also understand that I have only covered one part of the assertion given to us. While I agree that critical judgment certainly has more value when it comes from an "expert," I do not necessarily agree with the section of the assertion that claims that critical judgment has NO value UNLESS it comes from an expert. To take us back to my previous example, my mother's opinion certainly HAS value -- particularly if it is an honest, articulate, and well-meaning opinion, whether positive or negative. Her opinion is not of "little value" simply because she is not an expert in theatre. However, I do agree that it has less value, in terms of a person career-oriented in the theatre, than the opinion of an expert. Therefore, I think the best way I can answer whether I agree or disagree with this claim, is to say that I mostly agree with it, but allow for the possibility of observations or opinions of value coming from people who are far from "experts" just as often as they come from the "experts" themselves.