Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

In recent times, people generally have increasingly engaged in some type of work or the other across several fields. Although we may not necessarily demand it, we always receive some form of critical judgment of our work, which can come off as either positive or negative. The prompt takes the negative stance and argues that critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from an expert in the related field. I mostly disagree with this view and believe that critical judgment can be useful regardless of whether it comes from an expert for the following two reasons, though I do concede that having an expert provide critical judgment on a work can have superior merits in many cases.

To begin with, feedback is essential for continuous improvement and growth. Without feedback, it is difficult to see the areas of improvement. There can be gray areas in our works, and without a new pair of eyes observing and pointing it out, we may be oblivious to it. For example, institutions of learning and research leverage the knowledge of mentors and teachers, who may not necessarily be experts in the field but can supply critical analysis and judgment that can be useful for any student to improve upon. Another example would be in the area of arts and craft. A potential buyer could supply some valuable insights on the usability of a product that the creator may not have noticed, which when implemented could turn out to be a great innovation to their product. You do not need an expert to provide useful criticism, as criticism is an integral part of our everyday improvement and development.

Furthermore, there are limited numbers of experts in many fields, and it can be nearly impractical to only seek the opinions of an expert at every instance of need. Empirical studies have shown that a well-informed and selected crowd can be more intelligent in judgment than an expert. This is exemplified in a study that compared expert lawyers versus law students and interns, where results showed that with the right number of students, the same level of accuracy is achievable. It is tempting to overestimate the impact of experts in providing useful judgment when we can leverage the potential wisdom of the crowd, which is easily accessible to us.

However, I do concede that the impact of experts cannot be overlooked as they are able to provide not just critical judgment, but also insights inspired by years of useful practice, study, and experience. Exposure to a seasoned expert will provide a well-informed point of view and a more objective judgment, as well as cut down the stress and time wastage in engaging an equivalent crowd or aggregating their inputs.

In conclusion, while it is true that experts provide more useful, informed, and objective critical judgment of a work, leveraging other insights, particularly the opinion of others, can be useful and should not be absolutely discarded.