Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex

The argument that if Rialto Movie Theatre want to experience decrease moviegoers, it should have the same features as Apex Movie Theatre is not entirely logically convincing.

The argument made an assumption that 85 percent of the respondents of high price of new released movies prevent them from going to movies more than five times a year and so Rialto should do what Apex is doing. This assumption is misleading since the location of Apex movie Theatre and Rialto Movie Theatre are not mentioned. Even if they operate in the same locality, people might have their own taste and not necessarily because Rialto Theatre is not having some features as Apex.

Moreover, the assumption failed to address that high price of new released movies might be caused by other factors. The cost of producing a movie have an indirect cost on the price of every movie. Moving on, the survey omit how the 85 percent was obtained. Generalizing the result of just a survey of a group of people can be misleading. More to the point, the survey did not point out the number of respondent since it is very necessary before a result of a survey can be generalized to represent the entire population.

Furthermore, a movie theatre 5 decades ago cannot be used to compare a movie theatre which was established two years ago. The experience level of the people will also vary and so each will have ways of producing movies. Adding to this, the people living in the locality might not have taste for movies and so their taste can not be used to say it is the non-performance of a theatre.

Thus, it is clear that Apex movie theatre and Rialto movie theatre might be two different theatres and the performance of one can not be used to judge the other. There should be more and deep research to know more and the author should provide more details to back his argument.