Due to the small possibility of people dying due to the cow vaccine, routine vaccination drives should be abandoned.

Vaccination and immunization drives have always been associated with controversies and relentless debates. The lack of clarity on the potential consequences of inoculations have resulted in scores of people shying away from life-saving medications. However, it should be noted that the scientific reasoning behind inoculation is robust. These issues can be traced back to gross misinformation and a lack of awareness among the general populace.

Routine administration of anti-viral and anti-retroviral vaccines needs to be encouraged. Diseases like anthrax, hepatitis and polio which were once eradicated have now found resurgence in certain communities due to their unwillingness to vaccinate infants.

Given the virility of some of these disease-causing pathogens, a prolonged medicinal course might be unavoidable. This cannot be subsumed by the administration of larger dosages over smaller periods. It is important to identify at-risk communities and start inoculating people from an early age. As far as bovine flu is concerned, people working with or alongside livestock are at a greater risk of contracting the disease, In addition, there is also the allied fear of these people acting as hosts and carriers of the virus.

Consequently, it becomes all the more important to keep these communities up to speed in their inoculations. Like all vaccines, the influenza vaccine also involves the administration of microscopic quantities of the pathogen to trigger the natural proliferation of antigens and antibodies. Alas, it is this practice which has drawn the ire of certain sections of our society. The infinitesimally small possibility that a person will die due to the immunization procedure should not be used as an argument against all inoculations. This argument is deeply flawed due to the following reasons,

Firstly, fatalities due to vaccinations are almost always caused due to unhygienic personal practices. Certain vaccinations require people to follow a strict diet and exercise regiment. Vaccinations are more likely to fail when people remiss on their health provider's instructions. Genetic predispositions to certain drugs can also cause deleterious effects. However, these are statistically insignificant and can be overcome by administering booster dosages and different drug combinations.

Secondly, the cow flu can have multiple hosts. Once the virus crosses the species barrier, it can affect both humans and animals. Therefore, people who eschew this vaccine not only endanger themselves, but also their communities.

Furthermore, one should also take into account that vaccine dosages and combinations are short-lived and need to be regularly updated. A vaccine might prove to be effective against a particular strain of bacteria and viruses. If a population is not vaccinated at the appropriate time, these strains can become resistant to all future medications. This is known as 'antibiotic resistance'. Deaths due to antibiotic resistance are far more common in communities which fail to inoculate its people. From an economic standpoint, the development of vaccines is extremely cumbersome. When the validity of a drug lapses due to resistance, it becomes a futile entity.

The risks associated with the elimination of routine vaccination drives is far too significant to be overlooked. Despite the mathematical probability of fatalities, one needs to understand that the physiological and economic costs of a bovine flu epidemic make inoculations indispensable.