In every field, politics, government and business, those in power should step down after five years.

"Power corrupts the absolute and absolute power corrupts absolutely" is an adage that has gained relevance in recent years. The centralization of power structures in politics and education has led to a debilitating increase in corruption and incompetency. Every position of responsibility should have a stipulated time-frame. Hierarchies should be changed periodically and fresh breath should be instilled at opportune moments.

The reasons for enforcing strict tenures in politics and government are twofold. Firstly, the presence of deadlines will impel public servants to exercise their powers judiciously and work earnestly. The knowledge that their positions are dispensable will act as deterrent against corrupt and immoral practices. Prolonged periods of power have been shown to considerably elevate instances of malafide actions and infarctions.

Secondly, power structures such as government and businesses need to be decentralized. Most economists and policy experts feel that a top-down approach towards decision-making not only mitigates inefficiency, but also promotes healthier traits such as camaraderie and a willingness to acknowledge shortcomings. In most federal democracies, bills are debated and passed at two levels, a state-or community level and the national level. The evaluation of bills at multiple stages of government ensures bipartisan support. A constant rejig of office-bearers and government officials empowers decentralization.

Contrast this with an authoritarian regime in which the decision-making authority rests with a select group of individuals. Since there is no consultation with the stakeholders, laws are more likely to be oppressive and regressive. The proliferation of these dictatorial regimes can be traced back to prolonged periods in office. This is particularly evident in military regimes such as Pakistan and Iraq, countries in which democratically-elected governments have been overthrown by military generals. In countries like Nigeria and Sudan, these leaders often impose indefinite term limits for their office.

Well-defined durations of power act as a system of checks-and-balances. It offers an opportunity for people to eliminate inefficiency. A dispensation which is apathetic to the interests of the people can be voted out of power at the end of their stipulated term. This dissuades large enterprises from making rash and overarching decisions.

The need for change is one that is shared by all. The biggest threat to success in an enterprise or a government is fatigue. When leadership structures are changed periodically, fresh life is incorporated into the field. This buoys up people's spirits and leads to an overall increase in productivity. Unquestionably, the existential certainty of constant change acts as a moral compass for those in power.