"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Therefore, we recommend that Butler Manufacturing shorten each of its work shifts by one hour. Shorter shifts will allow Butler to improve its safety record by ensuring that its employees are adequately rested."

In this argument, the author urged to consider that there are a 30 percent more chances of an accident to occur by the workers in butler company in comparison to Panoply Industries. To support this recommendation, the author cited that this is happening due to the workers are not rested enough before getting to work again. I find this argument unconvincing and not cogent for some reasons.

First, the author states that sleep deprivation is the cause of more occurrence of accidents by workers. This claim cannot be accepted as it stands. A normal human being needs sleep of 8-9 hours and the most the shift of blue and white-collar jobs are for 8 hours per day, which accounts for a total of 16 -17 hours. They still have 8-9 hours left in a day which are more than enough for any employee to be well rested before getting back to work. In this argument, the author never discussed the shift timings of the workers in both companies. Hence the speculation about improper sleep for the employees does not make much sense. It deficit between what is states and what is there to evidence for and is too large to be overlooked, which ultimately cause a week argument that will count against authors conclusion.

Second, the author hypothesized that by reducing the shift timings of the workers by one hour there will be a 30 percent decrease in the job accidents in Butlet Company. This assumption is unwarranted as the correlation does not prove the causation. It is equally possible to assume that the real cause of accidents might be the error in machining or the manufacturing dyes are out of shape by its prolonged use. Perhaps the pressure of producing more products within the specified time is more than it is in Panoply industries. The author did not mention the cause of accidents in the argument. Therefore, this assumption is unwarranted and the authors' argument lacks compelling and affluent reasons to convince the proposal that reducing shift timings by 1 hour can save more accidents.

However, in accordance to the government statistics, it seems imperative to think that the lesser work shift means a more relaxed working environment for the employees. But, it is not clear where this data is for white-collar desk-jobs or for the blue-collar industrial labor as both domains have a different working environment. Hence the author is flawed and failed to substantiate his conclusion with the strong evidence and is termed with poor reasoning. The careful perusing of the evidence provided in the argument reveals that too many questions have been left unanswered without which the readers cannot consider it to be consequential.

In conclusion, this is a vague and ambiguous argument. To bolster this argument the author, must as very least, should offer the strong evidence, perhaps by the help of a survey participating the labors and the engineers of the Butler manufacturing, to find the real cause for the accidents.