"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

The recommendation made by vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries for achieving high productivity is laudable but the idea to achieve this is not in a proper way. Vice President tries to achieve high productivity by restricting the employees solely to the office work. Productivity has nothing to do with the amount of hours spent by the individual rather it is all about the concentration and creativity that one posses.

The idea of implementing the electronic monitoring of employees internet usage would not contribute much towards enhancing productivity. The employees shall not be restricted to the office work only the reason being, employee cannot sit idle when the work got completed.

However, the time spent by the employees on their personal use might be very less than the time taken to implement the software and then checking its compatibility and installing it on workstations. Restricting the employees to the office work might affect the productivity of the company as many would leave the company where this stage might be the crucial one.

In fact, the cost incurred on establishing software on workstations to monitor internet usage can be also high and there is no concern raised by the vice president on the cost structure in implementing it. Implementing a change in the well-established organisation might face consequences when the change is not evaluated from several aspects.

On the contrary, In the case of startups where the company itself is not completely on its ground and has a prodigious amount of work to be done in a short span of time, implementing such change would suffice. However, the vice president of the company does not claim the company’s status. The time period of releasing products in the case of startups is irregular and as the company itself is running out of time implementing the internet usage monitors would make the employees confined to the work.

The vice president of the company should take the above-elaborated factors into consideration which have a profound effect on the company and should make a compelling decision or recommendation.