Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe

that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

The author’s claim has two conflicting views which are undeniably true. The athletic competition both drives and discourages the young athletes. However, there are several aspects of the competition which are to be considered in order to well differentiate the conflicting presentations.

The first view, that the competition drives the young athletes to give their best in the competition, usually the competition gives the feedback which is very important for the young athlete and their team to correct their mistakes or improve the performance of the young athlete. The ability to identify the mistakes made by the young athlete in the competition and learning from the mistakes drives the athlete. In the head-to-head competitions, the difference between the winner and any athlete plays an important role in improving the performance of the young athlete in his/her next game.

In the next view, there are several aspects of the organization of competition that are to be considered which has a direct impact on this view that is, the competition discourages the young athletes. for instance, in the competition where different kinds of young athletes including the experts and layman take part in, it would completely be a dominant show of the experts over the untalented athletes. such competitions discourage the athletes and can make them poses no more interest in the sport. These athletes would generally give up rather than taking the defeat as a challenge and getting more stronger for the next competition. The organizers of the competition should be in a position to identify or come up with metrics that have to be met by the young athletes in order to take part in the competition. This makes the untalented and inexperienced athletes practice enough to meet the metrics, which in turn make the competition to be the competition of experts and where every athlete is enough capable of achieving the competition.

In the end, the authors claim has several implications which are to be dealt and one can’t simply make a concrete statement until and unless these implications are considered.