Essay topic: In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department

It may be true that Mason city should increase its budget in maintaining riverside recreational facilities. However, the argument the author made is not convincing enough. It is understandable and straightforward that the residents in the city always want a cleaner river, but there are multiple obvious flaws in the authors augments.

First, the author cites a survey which implies that the residents in the city list water sports as their favorite recreational activities. However, we have no way to know the scope and the validity of this survey. If they only ask some general questions like "do you like water sports or not", then the result may not be representative enough. The sample may not be representative either, for example, the survey only includes the residents living next to the river. We just do not know. Unless more details and statistics of the survey are provided, its effectiveness to back the author's argument is questionable.

Additionally, the author asserts that the use of the river for water sports is sure to increase because of the state's plan to clean up Mason River. However, a concrete connection between the cleaning up plan and the increased use of river is not yet made. When people say they like the water sports, they may prefer playing these sports in swimming pools or water park. If there are already enough facility like swimming pools or that in other rivers in city, a cleaner Mason river may not lead to any increase in use of water sports. To strengthen his argument, the author would benefit from a survey containing more detailed information about when and where the residents choose to play the water sports.

The author also asked for an increase in the budget this year due to the clean up plan. However, we have no idea of the timeline of this cleaning up project. It may take up several years to completely clean the river, before that, any efforts in the recreation facility will be wasted or unused. Furthermore, the author also implies that the smell and water quality results from some problems which can be cleaned, this may not be true. Some smell are due to the geography of the area or some natural deposit which are kinds of factors very hard to affect.

A clean beautiful river often adds to a city's property value, and a overall quality of life for residents. The city government may have reasons to invest in riverside recreational facilities. However, the author's argument can hardly be convincing to the city government to make the decision.