Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The author concludes that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors so that the students can secure better jobs. The author provides evidence to it by saying that the professors assign higher grades in order to gain positive feedback from the students. Because of this, potential employers beleive that the grades are highly inflated and thus do not provide authenticity. As a result, omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University.

To begin with, the author assumes that the professors assign higher grades so as to get positive response in evaluation from students. However, the increase in grades may be because of increased efforts that the professors put behind the students. Furthermore, the student who recieves higher grades anyway would provide negative evaluation for the professor as he or she is assigning unfair grades to the students who do not deserve them. Hence, this weakens the author's argument because getting positive evaluation might not be the incentive for assigning higher grades.

Moreover, the author assumes that potential employers recruit students of Alpha university as they believe grades of Omega graduates to be biased. This may not be the case. For example, the employers may be recruiting graduates on the basis of courses offered by both the universities. As a result, the courses offered by Alpha university might be more tilted towards the requirements of the employers. Moreover, the author assumes that employers recruit only on the basis of grades provided. However, the employers might also look at the skills and projects developed by the students. Thus, this weakens author's argument

Lastly, the author assumes that for the past 15 years, the paper pattern, the learning pedagogy and the intellectuals of the students remain more or less the same. This might not always be the case. The students admitted the following year might be brighter than the previous year's students hence weaking the argument. Furthermore, the university might have adopted a new learning pedagogy. For example, the universities may not be focusing more on practical knowledge along with theoretical which previously it was only focusing on theoretical. This might lead to more in depth knowledge about the subject and thus result in higher grades. Not only this, there may be a drastic change in paper pattern making it easier for students to crack the examinations. For example, instead of only subjective questions, the paper now might also offer objective questions which increase the chance of students getting higher grades. Thus, all these points weaken author's argument and hence terminating the evaluation process might not produce the desired effect.