Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the arguer concludes that the Omega University should terminate students evaluation of professors to enable its graduates. To support the conclusion, the arguer cites the fact that average grades of students have risen and the consequence that the Omega students have not been as successful at getting jobs as those from Alpha University. However, in order to fully evaluate the argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence.

Firstly, the author has to provide more evidence to substantiate the connection between the risen average grades and the student evaluation of professors. The author might ignore many other crucial factors that lead to the risen grades. It is very possible that the reason why average grades have risen is that the better condition of the research equipment in the laboratories. It is even possible that it is the higher scholarship offered by the school which encourages students to study harder that, as a result, lead to the increase of students' grades. Without accounting for those alternative explanation for the risen of students' grades, the author cannot prove that professor evaluation system is having great effect on students' grades.

Secondly, another evidence that would help us to evaluate this claim involves the other possible reason why students at Omega University are not that successful at getting jobs. The author assumes that it is because the inflated grades of Omega students, however, it is not necessarily the case. It is equally possible that the poor education for students career leads to the consequence that they have trouble dealing with the interview. Or perhaps the major of Alpha University is more adaptive for getting a job while Omega University students focus more on research area. In short, without clarifying other possibility of the poorer ability of getting a job of Omega students than Alpha students, the claim that the inflated grades lead to the low rate of getting a job of students in Omega University is significantly weakened.

Finally, in order to fully evaluate the argument, we should also learn more about other alternative ways to help students to secure a job. It is entirely possible that Omega University enable its graduates to secure better jobs through other ways. The arguer might ignore the possibility of helping students get a job by opening more lectures about job obtaining for students to take. Or the university can also train its students about how to behave well during the interview. The author's conclusion is strongly flawed unless the author can convince me that these possible solution is impotent on helping students secure a better job.

Taking what has been discussed above into consideration, the conclusion lacks creditability because the evidence cited in the analysis does not lend strong support to what the arguer maintains. To strengthen the argument, the author need to provide more evidence involving the connection between risen grades and students evaluation of professors ,and other possible reason for which students at Omega University are not that successful at getting jobs. To better evaluate the argument, we still need to know whether there are other possible ways to help students secure a better job.