The following appeared in an ad for a book titled How to Write a Screenplay for a Movie.

“Writers who want to succeed should try to write film screenplays rather than books, since the average film tends to make greater profits than does even a best-selling book. It is true that some books are also made into films. However, our nation’s film producers are more likely to produce movies based on original screenplays than to produce films based on books, because in recent years the films that have sold the most tickets have usually been based on original screenplays.”

Discuss how well reasoned is this argument. The aspirant needs to understand that there are certain assumptions being made in the argument and that is where his cue lies. He needs to point out these assumptions and state whether or not it is correct to have such assumptions given the scenario in the film-industry nowadays. He need not include names of any movies; rather he should depend on logic and reasoning to support his answer.

The author of the book titled How to write a Screenplay for a Movie is advertising his book by suggesting that writers who want to succeed in their profession can only do so , if they try writing film screenplays rather than books. This claim of his is reasoned by stating more profits being made today by average films in comparison to the best selling books. However, the author's claim regarding the same is substantially unreasonable. He presents unconvincing premise along questionable assumptions which render his advertisement wholly unpersuasive.

To begin with, the author mentions that the success parameter can be achieved by all the writers only if they write film screenplays. So in a sense , the meaning conveyed by him is that the content of the matter one writes , does not decide the success parameter but if the person writes film screenplays it gives the sure shot definition of success. Additionally, he backs up this claim by citing the profit made by the average film in comparison to the best selling book, but has not provided any evidence regarding the same. Without proper evidence, one cannot just arrive to this conclusion.

Furthermore, the author tends to assume that all the writers publish books only to gain profits. Some people write books to communicate, pen down their ideas, imaginations for a wider purpose. If people like their idea, it is then restructured and conveyed in the form of movies or documentaries again.The money and fame gained via the entertainment route is just a secondary wheel in the whole process. Moreover, if one sees, then this author too has penned a book and not a screenplay.So if we go by the author's logic, he wont be a successful one.

Thirdly, the author has cited another point- to write original screenplays rather than just adapting those screenplays directly from books itself, as this trend is the most successful one among the nation's leading producers nowadays. Again, the author has failed to provide the evidence to back up this claim.The author needs to provide exact numbers to back up his claim. He also tends to overlook the fact that the producers will make movies of the script they find to be most promising.Even, the high rate sellout of the ticket is based on the fact that the audience liked the amalgamation of the movie components and not because it was based on an original screenplay.

In a nutshell, the advertising gimmick used by the writer of the books fails to provide any compelling reasons on why one should buy his book. If the writer could have been more specific about the audience he was targeting to and had provided hard evidence to back his claims made in the ad, it could have made the advertisement more appealing and convincing.