The following appeared in the annual report from the president of national brush company.

“In order to save money, we at the National Brush Company have decided to pay our employees for each brush they produce instead of for time they spend producing brushes. We believe that this policy will lead to production of more and better brushes, will allow us to reduce our staff size, and will enable the company factories to operate fewer hours – resulting savings on electricity and security costs. These changes will ensure that the best workers keep their jobs and that the company will earn a profit in coming year.

In the annual report of National Brush Company stated that, In order to save money, they are going to pay employees for each brush they produce instead of working hours. He also mentioned about reducing cost by reducing staff size, and attrition of working hours which after all leads towards electricity savings and security cost degradation. With this type of policy they want as result is best workers keep their job and company will earn profit in next year. However this argument by president is full of unaddressed assumption and with inconsistencies. So, this argument is deeply flawed.

President considering option for paying is number of brush employee produced instead of paying by number of working hours. But this leads towards low quality brushes. As low quality brushes comes into the market and betrayed by customers. Though company has to pay each employee for number of brushes As this will give him chance of lucrative job. If number of hours is fixed and salary is fixed by working hours then employee does not feel pressure about work or aver about making more brushes and more money. If president’s paying option is considered by company then it leads towards more destruction of reputation in the market as quality of brush degrades and complain increases. So, This policy can’t be accepted.

President mentioned that by using policy mentioned in first point they produce more and better brushes, and it is resulting as reduce staff size, and reduction of factory hours which results as savings in electricity and security costs. Even though this seems correct, this is chaotic. As they want to increase production per person but keep overall production same. So they are eventually going to reduce their staff size plus reduction of factory hours for saving electricity. However, per person number of brushes production is increasing does not result as better brushes instead it leads to low quality brushes. Now, they are going to reduce staff and working ours. This means they are going to produce low quality brushes for saving money of electricity. Instead of this company can choose quality making quality brushes and working for whole day shift wise with old working hours policy for salary. As this leads to more brushes with good quality. Then sell increases and profit will be earned in next year.

President said that using this policy keep best employer in job and earn profit next year. Here, President used vague language as this which kind of best employer. One that makes more brush or good brush. If number of brush increase but quality decrease then it affect the business in bad way as People choose quality over quantity. So, this point reduce the chance of brush company to increase revenue and earn profit in next year.

The argument above weakens basis of suggestion given in the president’s article because this article may posses merit but President forget to consider many points. So, company has to research about this point and consider other parameters before instead of putting blind trust in President’s suggestion.