Membership in Oak City’s Civic Club – a club whose primary objective is to discuss local business – should continue to be restricted to people who live in Oak city. People who work in Oak city but who live elsewhere cannot truly understand the business and politics of the city. It is important to restrict pay city taxes and therefore only residents understand how the money could best be used to improve the city. At any rate, restricting membership in this way is unlikely to disappoint many of the nonresidents employed in Oak city, since neighboring Elm city’s Civic Club has always had an open membership policy, and only twenty-five nonresidents have joined Elm city’s Club in the last ten years.

In a letter appeared in the Oak city Gazette, a local newspaper conclude that membership in Oak City’s civic club restricted to only residents of that city because nonresidents do not understand politics and business and they are not paying taxes in Oak city. This paper also mentioned that nonresidents have not best ideas how to use money and solve other issues of local policies with an example of Elm city’s club and their low number nonresidents in last ten years. This letter has a merit though it has many unaddressed assumption, lack of evidence. This argument is deeply flawed.

First of all it stated that nonresidents do not understand local business and politics but in contrary they are involved in local business and politics. They are directly affected with any changes made in policies made by this local club decision taken by only residents. Including nonresidents in club might get more beneficial as they can give different suggestion for tackling same problem by his own city’s experience. In addition, some nonresidents are spending more time in this city than their hometown and changing in some policies lead to more problem for these commuters as an example of changing in traveling cost , changing daily work hour and wages, changing business society in city. These all leads to inconvenience to if nonresidents are not part of club.

Here, One point is made out that nonresidents do not understand how could money could best be used to improve city and they do not pay taxes. This statement leads to chaos as nonresidents paying taxes by country rule and they want equality in every regional part. Plus, by this type of attitude of city’s club discourage talents of other city. If someone from other city wants to do research or invest in any city then he wants an equality by residents of that city and by this type of attitude natural talents transfer might be stuck without progress. As Peter Thiel said, “ Lone genius might create a wonderful piece of art or any invention but for building can’t build a whole industry”. For making progress club has to change attitude towards nonresidents.

Paper mentioned example of Elm city’s club’s open membership policy though they have only 25 nonresidents in that club but author forgets to consider other cause for this result as high membership fee, total number of nonresidents and if they have an own club for nonresidents.

The argument given above weakens the basis of the suggestion given in the letter. Nonresidents may not be living in the city, but they are irremovable part of city. Plus by having them add more money to club which is in favor of club. So instead of putting blindly trust in this paper and it’s suggestion, there is a need of considering more valid points.