The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While the author was able to lead a research team to interview the same tribe as the original anthropologist, the argument that Dr. Karp makes does not make a cogent case on why Dr. Field’s methods are invalid. It is easy to understand why Dr. Karp would view their process as accurate, but this argument is riddled with holes and assumptions, thus is not strong o make the conclusion that Dr. Karp’s interviewed-based method is better than Dr. Fields observation-based approach.

First, Dr. Karp makes the assumption that because the children talked about their biological parents more than the tribe during their “interview-based” approach, does not mean that children weren’t reared by the tribe. Children naturally connect with their biological parents due to familiarity, smells and or emotional connections which drives a yearn to be near family leading the children to talk more of their parents rather than the tribe-child relationship. As soon as the s the interviews ended, the children could have gone and interacted with the tribe people as viewed by Dr. Fields observations. The phrase, “actions speak louder than words” can tell the deeper wants, needs and desires of people in which words can not. Unless the people of the tribe explicitly say that either they or the biological parents rear for the children, we can not assume that based on interviews that the parents are the main provers.

Additionally, the author gives no background, statistics notes from their research nor from Dr. Field’s approach or how each was conducted. Dr. Karp’s interview-based approach could have had questions only pertaining to how the children interacted with the parents and could have not inquired about the relationship between the children and the tribe. Dr. Field could have observed the tribe during the day where the tribe interacts with the children more rather than at night where the children maybe with the biological parents. Explaining the process and contents of the interviews would have strengthened the author's argument that their approach was better but the way in which Dr. Karp argues, the assumption does not carry the weight that their approach is a more accurate approach.

Furthermore, Dr. Karp assumes there were not any misunderstandings or mistakes when conducting the interviews. The team was made of graduate students, who could have possibly phrased the questions awkwardly, used language that may have been confusing to the tribespeople or the possibility of translation issues. Dr. Karp assumes that there was smooth communication during the interviews when quite possibly could have been confusion between the interviewees and the interviewers. No one can verify the mistakes and misunderstandings that could have occurred in the process which most people will not admit to mistakes being made and due to the issue of transparency, the argument the author makes is weak.

It is wonderful that these people were able to observe the tribe to have a deeper understanding of how they function and that it should be continued into the future. But the argument that the author’s approach is valid when compared to the original anthropologist is not likely to persuade others due to the assumptions made by Dr. Karp.