The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt explains that the greatest ideas come from a passionate interest in commonplace things. Throughout the timeline of human history, there has been a plethora of ideas that have expanded people's knowledge. The creation of the wheel, the discovery of fire, the dissecting the human body to understand how we are structured and our function are just a few ideas that have propelled our knowledge as a species. I disagree with the prompt as the greatest ideas do not come from simple places and here is why: most ideas come from uncommon/rare places such as the transition electric vehicles and scientific theories do not arise from commonplace things. However, while the advancing technology does start from simple to complex, this progression does not mean that all ideas come start from commonplace things.

First, lets examine ideas such as the trend towards electric vehicles in the United States. The creation of the internal combustion chamber that cars use was in itself a massive and complex idea and for roughly one hundred years, that was the forefront of everyday travel. Currently, with the concern of climate change, the drive away from the use of gasoline-powered vehicles is growing and the need for electric vehicles is growing. The creation of this new technology was nothing short of complex and rare as it has taken many years to understand how to collect, store and use electricity to move cars hundreds of miles. Thousands of hours, thousands of people trying to comprehend the physics and the limitations that we have with the technology. The idea of the electric vehicle rose not from a commonplace but rather the complex topics of physics, chemistry and the concern for the environment.

Another reason why I disagree with the prompt is the discovery and development of scientific theories such as general relativity, special relativity and The Big Bang, all of which started not from commonplace but rose from observing the uncommon and unique world surrounding us. These ideas grew from the unknown areas of humanity for which people like Isaac Newton or Albert Einstein committed every second of their lives studying, testing, recording everything they experienced. There is no commonplace for which these ideas rose from sat unknown in front of humanity for years, waiting to be discovered. Ideas and theories such as these come from complex places and thus have notoriety of being some of the greatest ideas humanity has discovered.

There could be some ideas that develop from commonplace things such as the invention of the telephone, which helped to get information from one individual to another faster than mailing. However, these ideas that arise from commonplace things are not the best ideas due to their lack of complexity as we can see that these simple ideas fade away and better ideas come into play.

In conclusion, while the prompt explains that the best ideas come from commonplace things, I disagree with this statement. The best ideas in fact come from complex places, which require many hours of thinking, creating and improving in order to have a great idea to push mankind to further improve both our selfs and the world that surrounds us.