The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

In the article written by Dr. Karp an anthropologist, he argues that on the island of Tertia children are reared by an entire village rather by their own biological parents. However, Dr. Karp's suggestion that interview-centered method is superior to observation method seems convincing at first, but on further inspection, the argument is found to be rife with holes and assumptions, and thus not good enough to prove that interview centered method can establish more accurate understanding as compared to observation centered approach.

Firstly, it is mentioned in the article that Dr. Field's study was conducted twenty years ago, and it is a very long time and many cultural changes could happen on the island of Tertia in the span of twenty years. It is possible that many cultural changes have happened in Tertia and now, the children are being raised by their parents instead of the whole community. Dr. Karp needs to take this into account instead of invalidating the study done by Dr. Field.

Additionally, another piece of evidence that we need is the types of questions that were asked to the children in the interviews. It could be possible that children were asked questions more specifically about their parents and answers to them cannot exclude them. Also, we need to know more about the answers that were given by the students. If they are mentioning their parents more because they are missing them because they are busy in their work or they are unhappy about their parents decision of raising them communally, that could subvert the author’s argument substantially.

Moreover, disregarding the observation-centered approach completely in favor of interview-centered approach is a very strong assertion and needs much more support than provided by the author. It is possible that Dr. Field’s study was not very precise but this could hardly justify disregarding this approach completely to study cultures of islands. Dr. Karp needs to provide more information about previously conducted observation-centered studies and interview-centered studies before making any such claims.

Thus, from the above arguments it is clear that additional evidences are needed in order to get complete understanding of strengths and weaknesses of Dr. Karp’s argument. Making mere claims without supporting evidences makes his argument only weaker.