The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The argument made by Dr. Karp is based on unwarranted assumptions. He argued that Dr. Field’s conclusion that children in Tertia were reared by the entire village rather than their their biological parents is invalid. Based on his interview, he concluded that children on this island talk more about their biological parents than the adults in the village. The stated and unstated assumption on which this argument is based is flawed.

Firstly, Dr Karp assumed that Dr. Field’s research based on observation is the same as his own research which is based on interview. These techniques are entirely different, therefore before Dr. Karp can conclude that Dr. Field research is invalid, he should conduct a research based on observation on the island too.

Secondly, interview-focused research is not entirely 100%, the fact that the children did talk less of the adults does not mean that the children were not rear by the entire village. The children may have decided not to talk about the adults. We choose what to say, except we are forced to say something else. Also, the questions that the children were asked is very crucial in analyzing this argument. Maybe the children were only asked questions about their parents and not about the adults. To justify Dr. Karp’s research, he has to state the questions that made up the interview.

Thirdly, he cannot generalized that the observational-centered method of studying culture is invalid. Let’s assumed that the observational method did not give the accurate understanding of child-rearing in Tertia Island that does not mean that it won’t give the accurate result in other islands. Before this argument can be justifiable, Dr. Karp should conduct an observation-centered research and interviewed-centered research in different villages. He should compare the results. If all the observational-centered research result is flawed, he can then conclude that interviewed-centered research should be adopted in other villages. For fairness, he should involve other researchers in carrying out the research.

In conclusion, Dr. Karp’s conclusion should not be accepted because it is based on unwarranted assumptions.