The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true Dr.Field approach to understand a culture be little outdated or wrong, but it doesn’t mean that it was entirely false because cultures change and evolutionize over-time as humans we always try to improve ourselves and by that we improve as a society and the way of our living. It could’ve been the same case with Tertia.

In India, rearing used done by not only parents but Grand Parents, Uncles, Aunts, etc. Those days people used to fancy living with there Parents, Grand Parents, etc. But due to gloabalization, children and parents live in one place and Grand Parents in another i.e in old age homes, which seems to be the final destination for everyone before grave these days. One can clearly see the change in the culture if just rearing is considered in a country like India where it was homeplace for many civilizations.

Also,The Tertia group of children that the author interviewed is a very small datapoint in the world of beautiful cultures and traditions. The world is a huge place

Tertia’s culture is a very small datapoint compared to all the cultures in the world to come to this conclusion of observation-centered approach.

These traditions and cultures existed long before Dr. Field and will continue to exist in the after the author and me, everybody has there own point-of-view and we need to appreciate it.