The following appeared in an article written by Dr Karp an anthropologist Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia andconcluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire villagerat

The article written by Dr. Karp concludes that research conducted by Dr. Field, twenty years ago, on the island of Tertia, was invalid and from this infers that the interview-centered methodology used by his team was superior to the observation-centered methodology practiced by Dr. Field’s team. Dr. Karp invalidates Dr. Field’s research by conducting interviews with children living in the group of islands including Tertia. Through his interviews he observed that children were talking more about their parents. However, there is a lack of three major pieces of evidence for his conclusions.

To begin, there is no evidence that the research conducted by Dr. Field, twenty years ago, is completely invalid. It is possible that the circumstances in Tertia have changed over the last twenty years where back then children may have been brought up by the village but now, twenty years later, the children may be brought up by their parents only. If this were the case, then the conclusion, inferred based on the fact that Dr. Field’s research was not accurate, is also not strong.

Secondly, there is no evidence that the children speak about their biological parents in the aspect of how they were brought up. It is possible that the survey contained questions which forced the children to talk about their parents. There is no proof of what type of questions are being asked in the survey, so if the survey was inconsistent then the interviews conducted by Dr. Karp and the data collected from them are not of any use.

Finally, there is no evidence that specifically the kids of Tertia are talking about their parents in the survey, as the survey was conducted for a group of islands of which Tertia is part of. It is possible that Tertia was the only island, where children spoke about all of the adults in the village when asked about their childhood, out of hundreds of other islands. If this was the case, as Dr. Karp’s study was for a group of islands, he can’t conclude for the island Tertia only.

In conclusion, there are many gaps in the research conducted by Dr. Karp and the conclusions drawn from them cannot be considered seriously without providing more evidence. With more evidence he could conclude about the rearing of the children in Tertia, and whether interviews or observations are better for studying cultures.