Requiring university students to take a variety of course outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated

Most universities make it necessary for their students to take on classes not belonging to their major. This prompt suggests that this should be mandated for all universities forcing students to explore various fields other than the one they have chosen to study. I mostly agree with this recommendation and argue that students should be exposed to a variety of subjects at their college for two reasons.

To begin, with every field advancing rapidly over the years, interdisciplinary knowledge could help professionals make new breakthroughs in their area of expertise. For instance, until the 2000s trading in the stock market was mostly done through analyzing companies profits and losses and their stock price. With the development of programming and computational power, people have started using coding to predict the future prices of a stock and trade accordingly. If students majoring in finance were not exposed to various math and programming concepts then the field of quantitative finance would have never been born. It is important for students to have a general idea of other fields of study so that they understand their scope and can determine if they could be used in their work.

Further, it is necessary for all universities to make students take up courses in humanities and social science, even if they are not relevant to their major. For instance, it is important for an artificial intelligence student to take up classes on ethics and learn about racism and discrimination, as it is important that the programs they write should not learn to be racist or discriminatory. Courses on the environment and human values help students realize more about the current world which may not be that important in their field of study but essential to become better human beings.

One may argue that people that have already done their undergraduate need not take up courses outside their major when they are pursuing their postgraduate degree as they would have already taken up those courses before, which seems fair if put into perspective. That’s why this would be complex to answer and universities could mandate other field courses based on their level of study. The university's job is to not only make students professionals in their major but also better human beings and visionaries for the future.