Requiring university students to take a variety of course outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.

Do universities command their students to take courses outside their major? In my view, though its motivation is right, it is not necessary to require every student to do so.

Some students can not afford the burden of taking a variety of courses outside their field. It is burdensome for a layout person to dig in an unknown ground. For an English-major student, it takes more time than other students who calculate a lot to study a math-demanding subject such as Engineering and Economics. As a student who majors in English, the most crucial issue is to get a throughout grasp of English literature. However, because of a necessary measure which requires students to take courses outside their major, he or she needs to dispense a considerable amount of time to fulfill this requirement, which precludes this student from making his or her best on English.

Besides, to achieve the requirement from universities, some students take courses that are unwilling to take if not necessary. Students with no passion in the courses outside their field make an adverse impact on the quality of courses. For example, some classes demand people with an active attitude to participate in discussions. If universities force students to take courses outside their field, inactive students will lower the overall quality of these courses. Moreover, some students who want to take classes who major in will be phased out due to this measure.

However, it is beneficial for students to take classes that are not their major, with a premise that measure is not obligatory. With this premise, we can make sure all students taking courses outside are active, and then we can talk about the pros of receiving a variety of courses outside their field. First, it will broaden their view to discover more possibilities for students unsatisfied with their major. For example, in Taiwan, many students are uncertain of their career when studying in senior high schools. Due to that reason, students choose their major based on solely the promise on the opinion received from their parents. Lots of students in Taiwan change their major because a course outside their major encourage them to step into the world they fascinate. Second, it stimulates a mind accustomed to a certain way of thinking. With the impact of a new discipline, it can benefit the development of the subject that students major. For example, Behavioral Science makes an excellent attribution to Economics because it inspires a new method to study human behavior.

In sum, the requirement of taking classes outside students' field is unnecessary to enforce. Nevertheless, it is helpful for students if they can handle these burden. In my opinion, for universities, it is better to encourage students rather than force them to take courses outside their major.