The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the article written by Dr.Karp it is stated that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and his observation-centered approach to studying culture is invalid. Dr. Karp has come to this conclusion after adopting an interview-centered approach to understand the child-raring culture of Tertia. However, before this conclusion can be evaluated, three unstated assumptions must be clarified.

Firstly, Dr. Karp has equated children talking about their biological parents to the children being nurtured by them. It can not be concluded that parents are the ones who play the major role in raising their children, just because the children talk more about their parents. Further, it can be argued that children will naturally talk about their own parents because, at the end of the day, they are their actual parents. If any of these statements are valid then the conclusion is significantly weakened.

Secondly, Dr. Karp and the graduate students, consider a child's testimony to study Tertia's culture. Children are a bit immature, their statements can not be considered absolute. Therefore, to believe that children's interviews can help study an entire island's child-raring culture may not be the right approach. We need more interviews and accounts from adults who have been raised on the island. They may provide a better insight into how they were raised on Tertia, and how they raise their own children, otherwise, the conclusion holds no water.

Dr. Karp's article never states what questions the children were asked. We know, the study was conducted by a group of graduate students, but we don't know if the questions asked were actually related to understanding the culture of the island or not. The questions could have been framed in such a way that the children would have had to talk more about their parents. Maybe the questions were too complex for the child to understand, or maybe they were too shallow for the child to actually talk about anything other than their parents. Until we are provided with more data about the questions asked in the interview we can't say the conclusion is valid.

In conclusion, Dr. Karp's approach to understanding the culture of Tertia is deeply flawed, as it has too many variables and unwarranted assumptions. If it will be possible for them to clarify these assumptions, provide more information, and add more dimensions to their approach, then only can we consider their observations valid.