The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

From the article, it was concluded that the shildren of Trtia spend much more time talking about their parent than with other adults n the village. This conclusion was based on the interview carried out with the children living in the group of islands which includes tertia. However, for this argument to be properly evaluated, two evidnces must be provided.

Firstly, the argument assumes that Tertia is similar in other Islands. There is need to provide a compelling evidences to support this assumption beacause the way of raring in Tertia could be different to other Islands. For instance, some parent might decide to send their wards to leave with a family friend because of financial capability and other family peculiarity. This might leads to the children leaving with someone different from their biological parent. Although, the interview might not cover this aspect while questioning the children, but there is need to provide evidence of such to adquately evaluate this assumption.

Secondly, the argument assumes that children is superior to their biological parent and other adults in the village. In the argument, it wasn’t properly explained while the children was priorotised in lieu of their parents or adults in the village while caarying out the interview. Ther should be an evidence explaining why the children is considered for the interveiew rather than their parent. For instance, the children might not be aware of why they were raised by other another individual in the village. Maybe the children were handed over at tender age and they might not have a clue about their parent therby, they tends to talk more about the individual that raised them much more better rather than their biological parent.

In conclusion, this argument as it stands now, is flawed because of several unwarranted and unexplained assumption made in the argument. Therefore, for this argument to be properly evaluated, there should be more compelling evidences to which the conclusion in the argument was based. This evidence could make the argument more viable and more effective.