The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In Dr.Karp’s article, he compared a study done twenty years ago with his own recent study about the child-rearing traditions in Tertia and concluded that his research is vaild method is surperior. Although the two anthropologists came up with different ideas and data, we cannot automatically agree with Dr.Karp just because his research is newer. There are still a lot of evidences need to make the conclusion. They can either strengthen the argument or weaken it.

The first evidence we need is whether the tradition has been changed over the twenty years or not, because twenty years is a period that is long enough for a community to adapt customs from outside world. Many islands were isolated from our modern society twenty years ago, but when researchers find them and communicate with them, they got in touch with modern society and therefore they might change their traditions over time. For example, an American documentary in 80s could show African tribal members wearing leaves and animal furs, but in 2000s they were already wearing T-shirts and driving cars. Without further evidence of whether the rear-baring tradition has been changed over twenty years or not, we cannot confidently conclude the validty of Dr.Karp’s argument. Because local communities in Tertia could be raising children together before, but then they changed it to raising children by biological parents when Dr.Karp did the research.

The second piece of evidence we urgently need is the distribution of the locations of the children who were interviewed. Dr.Field conducted his observation research only in Tertia, while Dr.Karp’s research team interviewed children not only in Tertia, but also in islands around it. Islands can have different cultures and traditions because of various reasons such as population, resources and landscape. If the village-based rearing tradition is absent in all islands around Tertia, that could significantly change the statistics in research. Even if rearing by the village is still the dominant way in Tertia, the statistics will still tell the opposite if Tertia only counts for a small percentage of the data. Therefore, we must know how many children in Tertia were interviewed and how many were not in Tertia. Otherwise we will get an incorrect impression from the analysis.

Another crucial piece of evidence we need is about the type of questions asked during interviews. Dr.Karp stated that ‘these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents,’ but that does not build a direct causal relationship between the topic and the people who look after them. They could be talking more about their parents because they miss them. We also do not know the details of the questionnaires, because the questions being asked may not be relevant to the rearing model but about other topics such as food or schooling. Therefore, it is hard for us to accept Dr.Karp’s argument without having more evidence about his design of interview.

In conclusion, in order to evaluate Dr.Karp’s argument, we need several pieces of evidence about his research. We need to know whether Tertia has been changed over the twenty years, the demographic distribution of the interviewees and the form of the questionaire. We need much more information to decide whether interview-centered approach is better than observation-centered approach in all field works