The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Dr. Karp believes that Dr. Field’s conclusion about the tertian village culture is invalid because it uses an observation-centered approach and that the interview-centered approach that his team of graduate students are currently using would yield a much more accurate understanding of the traditions in Tertia. Dr. Karp believes this because of his recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that include Tertia. However, this argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions and before this article can be properly regarded as being appropriate, the following questions must first be answered.

First of all, the argument depends on the assumption that the culture of Tertia is still the same as it was 20 years ago. In other words, is the culture of Tertia, events and ways of life of the Tertia population still the same as it was 20 years ago? It is possible that Tertia has been affected by civilization and the culture of the people are not the same as it was 20 years ago. Further, it is possible that the ruler-ship of Tertia has changed hands over the course of 20 years, and that the new ruler has brought in several changes to the customs and culture of Tertia. If either of these hold water, then the argument itself is flawed and the conclusion is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the argument depends on the assumption that the children in the interviews are representative of the population of Tertia. Maybe the children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia that the author interviewed were made up of children from other islands and that the children of the Tertia population were not included in this interview. It is also possible that Tertia is fearful of outsiders and do not entertain interviews and the author had to settle for children from neighboring islands. If either of these scenarios prove to be true, then the authors argument is flawed, and the argument does not hold water.

Additionally, the argument relies on the assumption that the children in the said interview actually relate correct information and that them talking more about their biological parents than other adults indicates that these children were raised by their parents. It is possible that these children talk about their parents mostly because they miss their parents and not necessarily because they were raised by them. Maybe, they weren’t raised by them and that these children basically talk about their parents from memory. If either one of these scenarios prove true, then the authors argument is significantly flawed and more evidence would be required to actually make sense of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is flawed as it relies on several unwarranted assumptions, if the author is able to offer more evidence as to the conditions and logistics of the interview that was carried out, then it would be possible to understand the appropriateness of the interview and contrast its results with the observation centered-approach of Dr. Field.