The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument given by Dr. Karp that interview-centred method is a better than observation-centred method in case of understanding child-rearing traditions of Tertia and other islands is clearly rife with many loopholes and tenuous assumptions. The assumptions made for drawing out this conclusion are invalid and makes it a three-legged table.

The conclusion drawn by Dr. Field using observation-centerd approach is twenty years old and declaring it as invalid on the basis of a study which is going on recently does not seem to be fair. This long time should be considered before making assumptions that the results of earlier study were incorrect. It is plausible that the traditions in Tertia might have changed in this span of time. When previous study might have been conducted the child-rearing practices would have been exactly like the observations made by the earlier team. Without providing an evidence that on what parameters are these approaches being judged this assumption will easily fall apart.

Secondly, the assumption that the interviews conducted by new team have provided accurate results is precarious as well. The children might still be reared by the whole village but as they spend more time with their biological parents can be the reason for swayed interviews. The reason that children did not talk enough about other villagers does not correlate to child-rearing traditions. Moreover, how many children were interviewed, was the sample big enough to generalize, whether the children were single child or had siblings because if it was a single child then he would have spent more time with his parents; issues like these have not been considered here. Proper answers for these questions are required to strengthen this argument.

Lastly, making an assumption about the current study which is still under process, will provide definite conclusions is dubious. Once the results are out and after that making a conclusion like this would make much more sense. The results of the interview-based study are missing from the argument which is much needed to corroborate it.

It is evident from the above statements that the argument provided by Dr. Karp is weak and is based on fallacious assumptions. Interview-based approach may be correct and can produce correct results but these answers are surely needed to come to this conclusion.