The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that interview-centered method is more accurate and reliable than the observation-centered approach that is used by Dr. Karp. This conclusion was based on the evidence provided by the author, that when the children of some island in Tertia were interviewed, they talked about their biological parents more which was contradicting the conclusion derived from the observation method used by Dr. Karp which stated that these children were reared by the entire village instead of their biological parents. Although the cited pieces of evidences seem logical and probable, but the assumptions on which the conclusion relies does not lend credible support to the argument. Hence the argument seems logically unconvincing in several aspects.

Firstly, the author fails to provide information about the number children he has interviewed. Perhaps if he has interviewed only few children then the conclusion can be inaccurate. Further, even if it is assumed that more number of children were interviewed, but what was the proportion of children who were interview and were belonging to the island of Tertia. Since the author claims that the children from a group of islands were interviewed, then it may be possible that the number of children belonging to Tertia were less. Also was the survey conducted on the children from the entire island, or only those children that lived nearby to the author's hotel or place of stay. Therefore small, biased and unreprensentative samples can considerably weaken the argument.

In addition to this, perhaps, the questions that were asked to the children in the interview were based on their biological parents or maybe they were asked to describe themselves as a result of which they kept mentioning about their biological parents. Further, the children might be show reluctance while answering to the questions and hence would not tend to reveal any information about themselves. Therefore the interview method would fail to achieve its objective as the children may be shy and diffident and thus not give answer to the questions honestly. To strengthen the argument, the author should have provided additional information about the type of children who were interviewed.

Finally, perhaps there may be some other impediments to a successful interview such as language barriers, age of the children and their educational backgrounds. For instance, many of the children belonging to the Island of Tertia, cannot speak any other language other that their local language. If the interviewer is not aware of that language then he cannot possibly gain much information from the children. Also, perhaps if the students are younger then they may be instructed by their parents to not reveal much information about themselves to any strangers. Thus due to all these factors using an observational strategy to gain information from the children can be a much better approach as it will overcome all the language barriers and give a detailed insight into the daily lives of the children

To sum up, the argument consists of some obvious fallacies and loopholes. To strengthen the argument, the author should have provided additional information about the number of children interviewed, or the type of questions that were asked in the survey as well as the type of children that were surveyed. But in the absence of this data, the argument relies on certain doubtful assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands