Government funding for pure science endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to

direct more funding towards humanitarian science projects.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to consider specific instances for which this statement

may or may not be true.

Any scientific exploration can definitely be considered as a remarkable effort in the understanding the abstruse aspects of the universe and is a big step in the field of science and technology. Therefore it is the government's duty to support such incredible scientists to lead to successful space endeavors. It is also true that such scientific exploration require profuse amount of financial support for the government. However such huge amount of funding spent on space exploration cannot put other significant aspects such as the basic human needs or rights on stake. Therefore I fundamentally agree with the author's claim that funding for humanitarian science projects should be increased.My viewpoints are aptly illustrated through the below mentioned examples.

Humanitarian projects, which help satisfy the needs of destitute people and which are oriented towards protection of human rights, is what should preempt all other responsiblities of the government.It would be considered foolhardy to provide more funding on space exploration projects while on the other hand let the entire nation is drown under the hardships of poverty or any kind of epidemic.People of the nation have voted for the governement because they believe that the govenrment would help them in their times of need and protect thier basic rights.For example,consider countries where economy is consistently low and people do not have basic amenities such as food,clothing and there is a massive rate of unemployement.Such a scenario needs to be to be handled and managed first by the government by financially supporting the people.Or maybe the governement could conduct surveys and devise efficient strategies that could help curb unemployement in such countries.In this scenario it would be prudent for the government to reduce the funding spent on less important matters like space exploration and dedicate their efforts into solving major problems that have a negative impact on the citizen's lives. Humanitairian scientist do equally commendable jobs as the other scientist who lead space explorations and hence the government should equally commit to help these scientists and provide more financial support to them as well.

However ,in contrast to the above statement, the government should not completely undermine the efforts of scientists who lead space explorations.If they provide them with much lesser funding then what is actually required then they scientist might not be able to acheive their goals and less support from the government could be an impediment in their scientific explorations. To build spaceships, requires a huge amount of money as even the simplest and the most intricate machinery inside the spaceships cost many dollars and it would be necessary for the scientists to build a high quality

machinery which would bolster the reliability of the spaceship and the safety of the astronauts.Hence if the government does not support them well enough then then they might get disheartened and their efforts would be undermined.

To sum up, although the government needs to financially help the scientists for their remarkable journey towards space explorations, but to establish peaceful conditions among the general population and help satisfy their needs should and always be the initial priority of the government in comparison to all other matters. This helps in improving the nation's general state of happiness and prosperity and support the people in times of their needs