Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Security and artistic culture and influence are an essential part of any nation. Each of the spectra has its own pros and cons. Therefore, under some given conditions, it is the duty of the government to equally invest in both the areas of arts and military. But there do exist scenarios where investing more in any one of them becomes crucial. Therefore I partially agree with the author's claim that governments should invest as much in arts as they do in the military.

My viewpoints are aptly illustrated through the below-mentioned examples.

Firstly, arts have a significant role in preserving the culture and heritage of the nation. Further, art influences reforms in the nation and can help change the mentality of the people. For instance, several contemporary art forms have been introduced in India which are deriving their ideas from the renaissance period. The ideas used in these paintings are helpful in preserving the dying culture of the people and as well as enlightening them. For instance, in India, many artists have made paintings depicting the daily life of ancient India and portraying incidents from the famous collection of religious text called 'Bhagwad Gita'. These paintings help in imparting morality among the people. Further, many dramatic forms of art such as theatres and movies are introducing several topics that attack the cherished beliefs of child marriage and girl-child abortion that are prevalent in rural India. Thus, these types of art forms help in spreading awareness among the people and change their narrow outlook and thus bring reforms in the society. Therefore, it is important for the government to invest in arts as it is beneficial for the entire nation.

In addition to this, sometimes, in case of a national emergency or when a nation is under any threat, it becomes extremely important for the government to put in some extra investment into the military. Taking some extra efforts in improving the military can thus help in strengthening the security of the nation. Moreover, when a particular nation has a low economy and is under some constant threat of any external military force, then they have no option but to invest their budget more for the military. However, the government should not get under the 'mad race' of the nations to collect ammunition in order to boast about their military strength. The government has the responsibility to prioritize the security of the people and hence must make decisions that would always lead to the development of the society

To sum up, when the nation is financially and economically stable, the government should equally devote its investment to both art and the military as art contributes to create reforms in the society and preserve the cultural heritage of the people and the military strengthen the security of the nation. However, in some cases of national emergency or threat, it becomes necessary for the government to invest more in the military. Therefore, the government should decide its contribution to both arts and military according to the situation but none of them should be neglected as both of them are beneficial for the country's progress.