The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that debate about rearing children in Tertia by entire village from Dr. Field is controversial, and it corroborates Dr. Karp interviews with children and his research disputes the Dr. Field’s conclusion. However, there are divergent aspects of unsubstantiated evidence that doesn’t match the argument; even it will be illogical to fathom.

First of all, there is no specific evidence that interview with only Tertia children. Dr. Karp showed that children are talking about only their parents, not entire village. However, he gathered groups of islands including Tertia, which means that some children are from other island are talking about their parents. The proportion of talking only about their parents can have more than talking about the entire village, which only Tertia children talked about.

Furthermore, there is no specific evidence that Dr. Field is showing the same conclusion as the research from twenty years ago. Since there is specific evidence that Dr. Field has the same opinion as he had twenty years ago, Dr. Karp can’t refute this idea. Dr. Field maybe change his mind; maybe he has the same idea as Dr. Karp present time research.

The other non-evidence is that Dr. Field’s observation-centered approach is invalid. Dr. Karp didn’t explain what was wrong in Dr. Field research. Dr. Karp is only showing recent interview proving children don’t really talk about their biological parents. However, even in those interview-centered method hasn’t show how does the method work. It can be possible that observation-centered approach is better than interview-centered method if there is no explanation about the process that was behaved.

Conclusively, the argument is aggravated by the assumption that since Dr. Field has controversial debate about child rearing by entire village from Tertia, Dr. Karp refute this idea; however, if the argument adduce the argument with explanation above, then it will be more cogent to understand.