The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

First of all, the time someone spends talking about other people does not necessarily mean that those people are crucial in their education. For example, many sociological studies establish that teachers are a bigger influence for the education of children than their parents. However, psychological studies have stated that children tend to speak more about their parents than about other people. In this sense, it would be needed to search for studies about this topic that apply to this particular case. If these were found, the conclusion reached by Dr. Field would be plausible.

Secondly, the number of children interviewed by Dr. Karp in Tertia is not mentioned. For example, he could have only made an interview to two children from the island, and, in this case, the conclusion reached could not be extended to all the offspring there. More specific evidence about the interviews made and their applicability would be necessary to reach the final conclusion in a justified way.

Thirdly, the questions made in the interview are not mentioned. To exemplify the effect that this may have had in the conclusion reached, it is possible that some of the questions had been ‘When were you born?’, or ‘Who wakes you up every morning?’, which can be certainly related to actions in which their parents may be more involved than other people in the village. Consequently, if this kind of questions have been made, the amount of time they had spent talking about their parents would not have been a matter of their importance, but related to the natural way of replying them. More accurate information about the questions involved is, hence, needed.

Finally, to conclude from a particular case that the interview-centered method is a better approach than the observation-centered one is a fallacy, as a particular case cannot be used to attain a general conclusion without further evidence. To explain this, it is plausible that the method based in observation is more adequate for other studies, such as ones related to music or art, as arbitrary examples. This would mean that, although the interview-centered method could be better for this particular case, the claim that it is more accurate than the observation-centered one may be false. To establish this, more studies using both methods should be made, in order to establish which is more accurate in each case.