A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays, the effort that some nations make to standardize their education is remarkable. The main reason for doing this is to be able to develop an equal-to-all exam, which can assess the knowledge that students have acquired during their school epoch. In my opinion, although I agree with the standardization of most of the subjects in order to assure that people have a minimum knowledge of many fields, I think that elective courses should be offered as well.

On the one hand, the need in life for general knowledge about language, maths and other subjects is, from my point of view, unquestionable. An engineer needs the ability to write memories, thesis and informs with adequate language and showing proper grammar and vocabulary variety, as well as a philologist has the necessity to calculate the benefits he will earn each month if he saves a certain percentage of money. Consequently, basic courses related to maths, language, physical education, geography and science should be compulsory for all people. This argument aligns with the statement presented.

Furthermore, in order to make standardized exams in conditions of equity for all students, it is necessary to guarantee that their education relates to almost the same subjects. To exemplify this, in Spain, the exam to access university studies is the same for every student in terms of some subjects, and different in terms of elective subjects. The selection method based on this exam has proved to be successful and fair, as people enter their studies according to their effort and abilities for studying, restricting very demanded degrees for people who attained a spectacular performance in that exam. Based upon this circumstance, implementing the same national curriculum, with differences only in elective courses, is definitely advisable.

However, I do not agree with this statement as it is presented. It can be inferred that the proposed policy is to teach every student exactly the same subjects with equal contents. Hence, in this case it would be plausible that, for example, medicine students would need to learn how to integrate, and engineering students would need to know about microbiology. This knowledge will probably not be used by them in their future job, and they would have been able to use that time to become experts in other subjects that could be more useful for their job. For this reason, I do not completely support the claim.

Additionally, if the proposed system was integrated by eliminating all subjects that relate only to certain fields of knowledge (such as maths or physics), this would mean that students would not be initially as prepared to start university as they are now. Thus, this would mean that degrees should increase their time length, in order to provide an adequate education. This would mean a higher amount of money needed to pay for university education, and, hence, a steep decline in the number of people who can afford it. This argument makes me disapprove the statement presented.

In conclusion, although I am convinced that a completely standardized education until entering college is not at all beneficial for students, I support the standardization of some basic subjects, in order to guarantee a minimum knowledge about them. The rest of the courses should be, in my opinion, elective.