The following appeared in a business magazine.

As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

In this argument, the company claimed that the canned tuna ,based on the results of chemicals analysis of Promofoods chemists, did not pose a health risk. However, the argument that provides support for the conclusion is highly doubtful and certain questions about the argument need to be addressed for a more reasonable evaluation of the conclusion.

To begin with, the validity of the sampling methodology conducted at Promodfoods is doubtful. The public can’t know how many canned foods are produced in one day. In other words, the information about the total production quantity is lacking. If the number of cans produced in one year is more than 8 million drastically, the 8 million cans would just not enough to be a valid sampling quantity. For example, canned foods are always produced in bulk, far more than the number returned for testing such as 8 trillion per year. Thus, without accurate information of total cans quantity, it is impossible to assess the results reasonably.

Next, even if the 8 million samples are enough to indicate real problems, we still need to ask whether there are other chemicals beyond the 8 commonly known that could also cause dizziness or nausea. If only those 8 chemicals are considered, other chemicals that could potentially cause the same symptoms will be ignored. For instance, dizziness or nausea may be caused by other serious viruses, which might be caused by contaminated cans during manufacturing. In other words, there is no evidence to indicate that the shown symptoms and 8 chemicals have a direct cause and effect relationship.

Finally, the question concerning the 3 chemicals found in the samples is raised. This may be true that they exist naturally in all canned foods. Nonetheless, the safety threshold of daily intake was not provided, so the public can’t know eating how many cans is safe per day. For example, the combination of the quantity of the chemicals of two or more cans will exceed the daily safety threshold and then cause the symptom of dizziness or nausea. To make it more convincing, a safety threshold should be provided, because the public can know that what amount of cans eating daily is safe.

In conclusion, the argument from Promofoods is not convincing as it represents. To reinforce the statement, Promofoods should make the total production quantity known and must provide safety threshold information, but not just pointed out these occur naturally in all cans. Therefore, if the questions above discussion can be answered, the conclusion will be more cogent.