The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

According to author, though the sales of Whirlwind video game company has declined for two years, the sales of video games will increase because the result of the survey of what characteristics video-game players prefer the most matches the features of video games made by Whirlwind. Since the company just promotes its games to ten to twenty-five years old people, the majority of video-game players, the author believes that the sales of Whirlwind video games will mount in next few months. However, the author’s argument may seem tenuous because of his/her unreasonable reasoning.

It seems unfairly that the author concludes the result that ten to twenty-five years old people to whom they introduced video games would like their vividly graphic games according to the survey that does not provide who the respondents are. It is possible that people who took the survey not in the interval of ten to twenty-five years old, so that it is not appropriate to say that people in this intervals like the same type of games as the respondents of the survey do.

The author implies that people who like playing vivid games have the latest tool that can run the game and allow them to play it. However, saying what type of games they like is one thing, having equipments to run that king of games which requires high level of cores is another.

Moreover, even though the majority of people who took the survey are ten to twenty-five years old and they do have high level equipments which can run their video games statically, the sales of the video games of Whirlwind might not increase. It is because most of these players are students, so that they are not financial independent from their family. If their parents do not allow them to purchase these games, there is no way that the sales can mount.

In conclusion, the evidences that are adduced by the author are not cogent enough and the interaction between what the author predicts and what the evidences stand is not unassailable. Thus, Whirlwind Company should better scrutinize details before taking the action.