The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The editorial in a local newspaper which indicates that adding a bicycle lane will reduce rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway provides interesting clues, but to move forward on the conclusion would definitely require more information and thought. Moreover, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to the conclusion.

To begin with, base on the fact that the traffic jams on Green Highway became worse when a lane was added to the nearby Green Highway last year, the author of the argument implies that additional lane of traffic is inefficient in reducing commuting time at rush hour on Blue Highway. However, he/she fails to justify this reason. In other words, are the situation of two highways similar? For example, if adding a new lane nearby the Highway is a superior method to decline rush-hour traffic. Nevertheless, number of emigrants who moved to the city center of Green Highway increased significantly last year. And the increase of emigrants caused an inferior impact on Green Highway’s traffic jams, even though a new lane was constructed. However, there was not a significant change in the number of commuters on Blue Highway last year. Therefore, maybe adding a new lane to the nearby Blue Highway can improve the traffic jams problem on the highway. Overall, without any specific details of Green Highway, it cannot assume that the solution suggested would not be helpful to decrease the traffic.

Additionally, the argument implies that adding a bicycle lane will encourage commuters to use bicycles and the addition will decline rush-hour traffic. It is not convincing, however, the suggestion of the editorial. I mean why does a bicycle lane encourage area residents who are keen bicyclists using bicycles to commute? For instance, area residents love using bicycles for exercise not to commute. Therefore, constructing a new bicycle lane can be a big mistake. Because, not only it does not encourage area residents to commute by bicycle, but also it wastes a lot of money. To conclude, the suggestion of the opponents does not show a connection between love riding bicycle and using bicycle to commute.

In conclusion, this argument is neither apparent nor convincing since it leaves out several angles and factors. I strongly believe that if the argument included the factors discussed above, the argument would have been more plausible and convincing.