The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The memorandum of the Happy Pancake House restaurants business manager which indicates that either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term ‘butter’ to refer to either butter or margarine provides interesting clues, but to move forward the conclusion would definitely require more information and thought. Moreover, the argument is rife with holes and assumption, and thus, not strong enough to lead to the conclusion.

Firstly, the argument indicates that the change from butter to margarine has had little impact on restaurants’ customers. Because only 2 percent of customers have complained. It is not clear, however, the evidence of the argument. In other word, that these customers have not complained about this change does not mean that they are happy with this change.

Additionally, building on many servers has reported that a number of butter offered customers do not complain when they are given margarine instead, the author conclude that either these customers do not differentiate butter from margarine or they use the term ‘butter’ to refer to either butter or margarine. However, he fails to justify this reason. For example, maybe margarine and butter have similar flavor and color, so it is likely that customer will not acknowledge that Pancake has chosen margarine to replace butter which triggers no complaints among customers. Or customers can indeed discriminate the difference between butter and margarine since they have disparate tastes. But the reason why those customers don't complain is because they like the flavor of margarine.

To conclude, the evidences in this argument is neither apparent nor convincing since it leaves out several angles and factors. I really believe that if the argument included the factors discussed above, it will be more apparent and satisfy.