The following appeared in an email sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville Over the past ten years there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre producti

The argument makes a number of unstated assumptions regarding the recommendation to launch free plays in the park program which is predicted to increase profits by bringing audiences. The plan is based on the success of a similar endeavor by another theatre. Taken as a whole , these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect . Indeed, if the assumptions do not hold true , the argument totally falls apart.

First of all, the decline in profits and decreasing attendance at theatre is attributed to a failed advertising campaign. This assumption that the marketing advertisement campaign has failed and goes on to overlook any other factors that might have contributed to the same. Declining general interest in theatre can be one such factor as with changing trends people have gradually looked to other forms of art or changed platforms to digital. Another factor can be the overuse of the themes or maybe the same plays are being repeated in the theatres for years now that has led to a loss of interest and declining attendance. It might also be the case that people are bored of the interiors, decoration, or the overall vibes of the theatre, which has led to their absence. So a marketing campaign cannot be solely attributed to decline in profits. These concerns should be thoroughly analyzed to deduce the genuine issues and then they should be suitably addressed. Otherwise, the play at the park might prove to be a futile effort as well.

Secondly, the marketing director believes that the success of the Avon Repertory Company can be replicated. There are a number of assumptions under the same as well. For instance the increase in profits may not be the direct result of park play but cutting down costs, while people attendance might have remained the same or even decreased this not mentioned in the argument. It might also be the case that Avon Repertory Company leading to an increase in the profits may have increased the ticket prices. Even if the profit increase can be attributed to the free park play, the same tactics might not be applicable today as they did it 2 years ago. These same tactics might not just work today for the Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. The marketing director should look at the recent social trends and decide on capitalizing or them and may be even use the social media. Unless, the above concerns are addressed relying singly on a free park play program may prove deleterious.

In conclusion, it can be said that the argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermines its validity. Unless these concerns are addressed the argument falls apart and the plan to conduct a free park play might prove to be a futile effort at attracting people to the theatre and increasing profits.