The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the article here claims that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. In order to bolster his claims author has put forward some of the evidences. One of them is that the eating habits of people conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. The second one of them is there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that reduces cholesterol. However, in the evidences provided by the author, there are several flaws, assumptions, illogical rationale he made to support the arguments. In order to strengthen the argument, he should go through several discussions below.

Firstly, is nutrition the only thing that contributes to healthful lifestyles? Along with nutrition things like physical exercise, cleaner surroundings play an imperative role in healthful lifestyles. It is possible that over time people may have adopted more nutritious food in their lifestyles but might have reduced the physical activity which keeps them healthy. For instance, let us take the case of a person who might be taking more nutritious food than he was taking ten years ago. Over time owing to the busy schedule of his work it may be possible for him to eat nutritious food but not doing some physical activity. This lack of physical activity may still lead to different health issues for this person in reference. Thus, the author needs to consider and provide data related to factors other than nutrition that contributes to healthful lifestyles before making any hasty conclusions.

Secondly, are the nutritional requirements for a person the same as they were ten years ago? The author here is assuming that the nutritional recommendations ten years ago are roughly comparable to recommendations now. It might be possible that over time the nutritional requirements of people have increased but the government recommendations were not updated accordingly. For instance, let us take where a person needed 1000 calories of energy per day ten years ago and many of the citizens of Forsythe intake was only 600 calories. Similarly at present let us assume that the nutritional requirement of a person per day increased to 1200 calories and the intake of Forsythe citizens is 650. Even though the current intake of citizens increased by 50 calories when compared to ten years ago and nutritional recommendations of the government, the author doesn't take into account the change in nutritional requirements over time. Thus author needs to provide more evidence to support the nutritional requirements changes.

Thirdly, the author didn't mention anything about the number of people that were included in the survey. It may be possible that the survey has taken only ten percent of the population into consideration and extrapolated the results to the entire Forsythe. Thus ambiguities about the survey numbers decrease the reliance on evidence, while the author could render strong evidence with better survey numbers.

In a final summary, the argument is weak and is unconvincing. Thus, the answers to the above question need to be answered in order to evaluate the author's argument. However, the report fails to answer these questions and as a result, the author's claim that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles is dubious and as of now, the authenticity of the argument falls flat.