The following appeared in a health magazine."The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional r

The author here argues that the citizen in forsythe have adopted healthful lifestyles, since, in their eating habit they conformed more closely to the government nutritional recommendation. Stated in this way, the author fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. On a support of this argument, the author notes that, the people in forsythe are using more food products containing a substance called kiran, which is known to reduce cholesterol and also are avoiding the use of food products containing sulia-a food that few of the most healthy citizen regularly eat. However, a careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides only a little credible support to the author's recommendation. Hence, the argument is incomplete.

First a fall, the author readily assumes that the people are adopting a healthy life on the basis of report of survey. To evaluate this claim, we need a evidence about if the survey is representative. If the sampling population is not large enough and the people in a survey are biased, then, the result of survey does not reflect the eating habits of the majority of the citizen and the result would not be conclusive. For this reason, the author's argument is weakened because the given supporting evidence is problematic.

Moreover, the author also implied a link between the selling of the food products containing a substance called kiran, and the citizen adopting a healthful lifestyle. In order to prove the veracity of the link, the author should clarify whether the use of a food products containing kiran is due to people concerning about their health or due to other reason. May be now a days the food manufacturer add a substance containing kiran in almost all the foods and so people are using them without knowing that it help to reduce the cholesterol. If this is true, then, it will weaken the argument.

Furthermore, the author also connect the selling of the food product containing sulia and the people adopting healthy life style. In order to support this statement, the author should mention the nutritional content of sulia. If it is found that, it is a healthy substance then the argument would be weakened . Also, it may have happen that the taste of the food products containing sulia is not good and the people don't like to eat that, so, the selling may have decreased. If this is true, then, it will undermine the argument.

To sum up, in order to evaluate the argument, we should ensure several assumptions; whether the survey is representative, is the people buying more food containing kiran due to becoming health conscious. Therefore, in its present form, the argument is flawed and unconvincing due to the lack of adequate evidence in a support of this claim.