The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent.

Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent.

These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result.

Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The excerpt from the health newsletter states that the main focus of the government should be to educate the citizens about bicycle safety rather than encouraging them to wear safety helmets. The argument is based on the fact that even though there has been a significant increase in the percentage of bicyclists wearing helmets, there appears to be a greater rise in the number of accidents too as the cyclists tend to take more risks due to the safety of the helmet. However, this arguments is not validated as it has been conformed on the basis of some unstated assumptions.

To begin with, the assumption that the number of accidents that have been reported are due to the cyclists taking more risks can not be held as true. For example, if there is a significant rise in people investing in shares to earn profits as a market appears to be stable, due to a bubble burst as a result a of the unforeseen circumstances like an earthquake the then the loss faced by the investors can not be attributed to their risk taking behavior. To label the complete populace as risk taking and callous and attribute them to all the accidents can't be held true.

Also, another important unstated assumption that is not lucid, is the condition of roads and the population of people taken into consideration. In the time period of a complete decade, the condition of the roads and whether proper maintenance has been done, needs to be taken into account as it can also be a factor in the increase in number of accidents. Also, there could be a population boom, due to which there exists a possibility of a increased chances of accidents that occur.

Thus, due to these unstated assumptions which the newsletter does not state, the given statement can not stated as true. A considerable amount of proof needs to provided to validate this claim. The government can provide the statistical data for the same and bolster this argument.