The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores.

Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices.

Instead, we should reduce our operating hours.

Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago.

Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The new strategy to be adopted by the Movies Galore at all their branches, in order to improve profits is to reduce their operating hours. The strategy was supported by the fact that they received very few customer complaints about these new policies. However, in order to assure guarantee that the strategy has successful, we require a few concrete evidences to support it.

Firstly, there has been no direct evidence of improve in the sale numbers of the the rented movies. For example, say a chemical company in order to maximize it's profits decides to to reduce it's number of operating days for the workers. The reduction in the working hours of the workers has no solid relation with selling of the products itself. Thus ,the example paints a quite clear picture, that even though we reduce the number of working hours for the employees, there is no guarantee that it can solve the problem at hand.

Secondly, the strategy to reduce the stock of older movies is not bolstered by any proof that the customers are not interested in those movies. A number of people enjoy rewatching old classics, which thus provides the company with a complete separate fan base for movies. The reduction in the inventory would hamper their sales, as they are cutting down a huge chunk of their targeted audiences.

Thus, the strategy to be adopted hold no water and flawed in a sense that they hold no guarantee of a complete success. If the strategy is to be implemented, then the research team of the company need to provide the required statistics in numbers and consolidate their plan.