The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores. “Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new polic

The owner of Movies Galore claims to deal with declining profit problem by reducing its operation hours and abandoning store DVDs released over five years, and cites a alleged successive case to strengthen his assertation. While his suggested polices seemed to be effective ostensibly, fewer complaints Galore received also contain possibilities that customers do feel terrible about new policies. Thus, the writer's argument is actually rife with holes.

Firstly, it is said that increasing prices is imprudent due to low prices are their tradition, so breaking that rule is not what customers want. That is a great prediction. But the alternative method is on the contrary, which is reducing its operation time. According to the purchase history, if the trade made during 6p.m to 9p.m represents a large part in the total purchase history, the new policy is extremely counterproductive. So it should take the store owner some time checking if that is the situation.

Secondly, the writer cites an instance regarding his new policies on only one store in downtown, and claims that neither reducing operation hours or diminishing classical DVDs elicit customer's aversion. Behind such deduction, the speaker sanguinely use downtown store to generalize stores in other places over reduction of operation time. There may be some huge differences between different stores, for example, the city-center store used as the writer's example could receive less complaint for shorten opening time in that people living there frequently choose to watch movies in cinemas constructed intensively in the city centre. Here, if another store located in countryside with less cinemas around, will be the first choice for citizens there to buy DVDs. Thus, obviously, it is not holding water if widespread the opening time reduction policy implemented in the downtown one. Moreover, as for the abandoning DVDs over five years policy, it also needs the writer to search for the store customers' preferences. If people pay more attention to classical movies, it will be self-defeating to apply it.

To sum, a number of holes of logic exists underlying the ostensible plausible argument of the author, who fails to make convincing logic deduction and persuade the board of the store to implement such two policies. In order to make argument more supportive and persuasive, for the writer, more evidence should be cited.